Going Paleo and Starting Boot Camp

2014-07-29 08.35.39

My mom died pretty young (she was 40) and I once asked someone, given that history, at what age I needed to start taking my health seriously. The answer they gave me was 30 so turning 30, for this reason, was kind of a big deal.

In anticipation of this age, I set a few goals. I needed to find a Primary Care Physician ( I have never had one before, only OB/Gyn over the years), establish some sort of regular workout schedule and get my act together with my diet.

I found out about a Boot Camp program from friends. It meets every day, very early in the morning. All I have to do is show up and they tell me what to do. It is a combination of strength training and cardio. I started at the end of June and still (in November) feel like this is one of the best life decisions I have ever made. I haven’t felt this strong or good since prior to having kids.

So far I am really enjoying this workout and how it fits with my schedule. I am out the door early and home at about the same time the kids are waking up and starting their day. And I feel good through out the rest of the day.

I had my first appointment with a new PCP in August. I was told that my health looks good, but I needed to lose weight and get a colonoscopy (because of my family history of colon cancer). The next step in the process was to figure out what I wanted to do for food. Bryan has been pursuing a paleo diet for about a year now and so I figured I would try to incorporate that into my plan.

I focused on being paleo for a few months, but I wasn’t restricting calories or counting anything because I was still nursing frequently. I wasn’t losing weight, but I was feeling better.  When we returned from a trip to Ohio in September, I decided it was time to start taking this part seriously. I got the MyFitessPal app and I have lost 10 pounds in the last month.

I am really pleased with this progress and I am hoping to lose about 20-25 more pounds. I am trying to take my time, be patient with myself and work on fitting these changes into my life in a way that will stick. I am planning to share some of my favorite go-to recipes here soon (paleo and non-paleo both).

Leave a Reply

