On Resolutions for 2014

So its the last day of January and I am just now getting around to writing out my resolutions. Last year, they were numerous. And then I found out I was pregnant and it all kind of got forgotten about. So now that the baby is nearly three months and we are starting to get used to being a family of 5, I have been spending time focusing on what it is I want our life to be about now. What should be important to me, important enough that I reconsider my daily/weekly/regular routine to incorporate it. And so here is what I came up with:

1. Focus on health. For me this means eliminating processed foods and decided not to have too many in our house (we still have some snacks for the kids). It also means being outside more and moving – walking, playing, etc. This is a hard one since lately I almost always have a baby attached to me when we are outside. For me, it also means taking it day by day. Every time I have a choice, that choice is singular and just because i take a bite of something unhealthy in the morning doesn’t mean the day is ruined. We have also decided that we are going to make way more food at home. 

2. Say yes more. I want to say yes to the kids when they ask to do something and not say no because of my plans/expectations/etc. I want to say yes to Bryan more. I want to be up for anything. I want to be ok with play doh and paint and markers in a way I haven’t before. I want to go to the beach and the park and all the other things we backed off of when I was super pregnant and uncomfortable. 

3. I want to refocus on living a like of intention. I want to really think about my actions before I do them. Think about the words coming out of my mouth before I say them. This last part is a real challenge for me. I grew up in a house with a yeller and so it is second nature for me to yell. I want that to change. I want to be more aware of how I am feeling when I want to yell and why. I want to see what it is I could do differently or what I could have done to prevent the situation in the first place. I want to bring intention to other areas of my life, too. How I eat, how I love my husband, how I treat other people in my life. What makes others feel loved and supported. What can I do to that effect?

And that’s it. I want 2014 to be a year surrounding personal intent, health and being open and saying yes. My goal is to integrate all these things into my life daily. 

Leave a Reply

