Friday Five

In an effort to get the ball rolling, I am going to try to introduce some sort of regular posting “schedule”, though I am not going to put pressure on myself to adhere to a super strict schedule. but, for this first Friday of the year, here are five things that are on my mind:

1. This morning I woke up with food on my mind. In the last few weeks several articles have popped up on my radar talking about studies related to health. One study found we eat too much meat. One said if you work out “too much” it is bad for you. And yet another one says if you are going to “diet” at all, paleo is the way to go. I don’t really know what to do with all this information.  My goal is to acheive a healthy way of living, where I feel good (which I haven’t been so successful at in recent months).  I know when I am working out regularly (even if it is just once or twice a week), I feel better and have more energy. I know that when I am eating foods high in sugar and fat, I feel worse all around. And yet it is so hard for me to focus on the part about ding well for my body. If I start to restrict myself in diet, my focus shifts to all the things I cannot have. And when I am busy, stressed and overwhelmed, I have, historically, let my workouts be the first think to slip away. I want to change that.

51HQ6DQNgmL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

2. I am currently reading Far From the Tree, a fascinating look at the parent/child relationships amongst families where children have identities different from their parents, i.e. deaf children born to hearing parents. The author is thorough in his exploration of these relationships. And quite verbose! I haven’t followed it chronologically, but I am in the section about parents to child prodigies. The author gives many examples about how our society isn’t well equipped to deal with these types of kids – the kinds who are like children socially, but like adults intellectually.  He also points out how ill prepared many parents are to have kids with such talent and ability, and how, unlike children who are born with down syndrome (which is another fascinating section of the book), there are no support groups or books to read about being this specific type of parent. It is an interesting “problem” to think about.  But it also kind of leads me to reflect on how ill prepared we all are until we start to see the buds of the people our children are to become. It makes me think about how to treat my kids’ talents as well as weaknesses. Where will I encourage them?  Where will I push them?  Or will I push them at all?  How will I nurture them?

3. I am also thinking about how when Henry was the age that Cora is now, we got pregnant with Cora. That fact seriously blows my mind!  I think about what it would be like to get pregnant right now and my mind kind of explodes because I cannot even comprehend having a third child right now. But the reason it is at the forefront of my mind is because I am already starting to feel ready for a third. I wonder if it is hormonal, biological, emotional or what.

4. This weekend is going to be a busy one. Tomorrow we are celebrating one of our favorite friend’s first birthday!  I am going to be trying out a new yoga studio and I am going to try to get Henry in to a gymnastics class. I also want to try to sew a baby blanket for a friend.

5. Today I am feeling really good about things, overall. I am not really sure why or what is causing it, but I am feeling more capable than ever of all the goals I want to accomplish.

Have a Wonderful Weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

